Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly transports readers to 1986 and introduces them to the unforgettable Cash, Fitch, and Bird Nelson Thomas in this pitch-perfect middle grade novel about family, friendship, science, and exploration. This acclaimed Newbery Honor Book is a great choice for readers of Kate DiCamillo, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Rebecca Stead.

 

Cash, Fitch, and Bird Nelson Thomas are three siblings in seventh grade together in Park, Delaware. In 1986, as the country waits expectantly for the launch of the space shuttle Challenger, they each struggle with their own personal anxieties. Cash, who loves basketball but has a newly broken wrist, is in danger of failing seventh grade for the second time. Fitch spends every afternoon playing Major Havoc at the arcade on Main and wrestles with an explosive temper that he doesn’t understand. And Bird, his twelve-year-old twin, dreams of being NASA’s first female shuttle commander, but feels like she’s disappearing. 

 

The Nelson Thomas children exist in their own orbits, circling a tense and unpredictable household, with little in common except an enthusiastic science teacher named Ms. Salonga. As the launch of the Challenger approaches, Ms. Salonga gives her students a project—they are separated into spacecraft crews and must create and complete a mission. When the fated day finally arrives, it changes all of their lives and brings them together in unexpected ways.

 

Told in three alternating points of view, We Dream of Space is an unforgettable and thematically rich novel for middle grade readers.

Monday, July 11-Book Club - 3rd-5th grade

$20.00Price
    • Book Club will meet in outside at 1060 Miami Way, though particpants who would prefer to meet online will be sent a zoom link so they can join us.
    • Please make sure that your  kiddo reads the book before our book club meeting.  We encourage kids to read with a pen/highlighter in hand and underline or highlight any passages that they like or find interesting or confusing.  
    • Encourage your kids to keep a list of any new vocabulary words and take the time to look them up.
    • Have your reader write two questions before the group meeting and have them bring those questions to our meeting.
    • Bring your copy of the book to our book club meeting so that each participant will be able to refer to the text during our discussion.